Parliament Sessions Weekly Review November 6-9, 2001


1. Resolution decree on “abolishment of MP authority to Jemal Mebuke before term”

Chairman of committee on Procedural issues and Rules Rostom Dolidze represented resolution decree.

 Jemal Mebuke in one of four MPs, whose legitimacy was doubted by Constitutional Court.

For – 158 
Against – 3

2. Resolution decree on “acknowledgment authority of MP Mikheil Saakashvili elected in #2 Vake election district”

Chairman of committee on Procedural issues and Rules Rostom Dolidze represented resolution decree.

 For – 165 
Against – 1

3. Resolution decree on “acknowledgment authority of MP Vazha Lortkipanidze elected in #52 Bagdati election district”

Chairman of committee on Procedural issues and Rules Rostom Dolidze represented resolution decree.

 For – 192 
Against – 0

4. Election of Chairman of Parliament

Parliament had to elect its chairman. The only official candidate was Nino Burjanadze. Faction “Tanadgoma” named second candidate Vazha Lortkipanidze at session.

Factions “Socialist”, “XXI century”, “United Georgia”, “Revival”, “Tanadgoma”, “Alliance for new Georgia” and “New rightists” applied Parliament with the letter to postpone chairman election for Friday. By regulation law Parliament has to elect new chairman in 10 days.

Representative of Zhvania team insisted voting. According to them Parliament without chairman is not effective; It is inadmissible to prolong the process artificially.

Hamlet Chipashvili from “Revivals” declared that parliament Chairman should be acceptable for all factions more or less. Only consultation results will give the candidate like this. The leader of “New rightists” Davit Gamkrelidze even threatened parliament 157 quorum failure in case of voting.

Valeri Gelbakhiani spoke on already begun agreements. He said that Committee chairman posts were shared preliminary. He also paid attention to parliament staff changing issue, as it still stays under the control of CUG.

In atmosphere of tensed situation a little incident happened. Vakhtang Rcheulishvili occupied presidium demonstrating him as the vise-speaker. Ex-chairman of parliament Zurab Zhvania pointed Rcheulishvili toward his place in sitting hall. Zurab Zhvania could discharge tension when declared that after consultation parliament would continue working on Thursday. 

Jemal Gogitidze still demanded to postpone the issue for Friday. MP from CUG Khatuna Khoperia tried to explain real motivation of “revivals” and congratulated Parliament the subordination with Aslan Abashidze’ will.


1. Election of Parliament Chairman

Three candidates were represented on Parliament Chairman post: Nino Burjanadze represented by faction “Traditionalist”, Vazha Lortkipanidze named by faction “Tanadgoma” and Jemal Gogitidze from faction “Revival”.

Nino Burjanadze in her program speech paid attention on necessity of discharging situation in parliament and preferred future chairman having  neutral position. Vazha Lortkipanidze concentrated on restoration of depressed national values and traditionally Jemal Gogitidze activated the issue of Free Economic Zone.

According to Parliament regulation law secret voting by bulletins elects chairman. Temporary election commission composed by MPs holds election process. Commission was formed of 11 MPs, where each candidate had three representatives.

Disreputable incident happened before voting began. MP Rostom Japaridze discovered that bulletins were numerated. Head of election commission Vakhtang Khmaladze declared that criminal issue began on the fact and investigation will clear out the criminals.

Davit Gamkrelidze asked head of staff Khatuna Gogorishvili to take responsibility and resign.

Khatuna Gogorishvili applied MPs from tribune first time. She declared that only five persons including her could participate in that criminal. “I agree to be under control of investigation group of Prosecution. Before my fault is not approved I won’t resign. It was directed personally against me”- Gogorishvili declared.

In spite of different point of view voting was held. The results of first tour:

Nino Burjanadze – 104
Vazha Lortkipanidze – 71
Jemal Gogitidze – 52

128 MP participated in voting. Only one bulletin was false.

In result of second tour Nino Burjanadze became Chairman of Parliament.
Nino Burjanadze – 129
Vazha Lortkipanidze – 98

Nino Burjanadze occupied her post in presidium and thanked all of her supporters.

Parliament could elect chairman after 13 hour stressful working.