Georgia No Longer Exempt from EU’s Tighter Vaccine Export Controls

Georgia is no longer exempt from the European Union’s list for tighter COVID-19 vaccine export controls, following the Commission’s decision today. Sixteen other countries were also discarded from the exempt list.

Widely referred to as the “export ban”, the EU adopted the regulation in late January after a row with AstraZeneca over the shortage of COVID-19 vaccine doses. Over 100 low and middle-income countries, including Georgia, were then off the list needing additional authorizations, while rich countries, like the U.S., the UK, Australia, and Canada were left off exempt.

Previously mainly assessing whether the vaccine supplier met the contractual obligations with the EU, the updated scheme now introduces principles of reciprocity and proportionality.

Also Read:

NB: The article was amended for clarity. 

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)